Anything But Hold Em

There\’s More to Poker Than Texas Hold Em

A Stud Hand With Mason Malmuth

Posted by pmpoker on October 12, 2006

From the 2+2 Archives:

I thought I would share part of a hand I played today in a jammed packed Mirage Poker Room. The game was $20-$40 stud with a $3 ante and a $5 bring-in. A deuce brought it in. The first player with an ace up just called. This person was playing virtually every hand and not doing very well. The next two players passed. I was next with a pair of tens and a deuce, three different suits, and was the highest remaining upcard, and my hand was completely live. I raised. The next two players both with a nine up called. The remaining players including the bring-in folded, the live one with the ace up then reraised. It was now my turn. My question is, what should I do?

This sparks a fierce debate over raising vs. folding. Mason then tells what he did:

Normally when you have a pair of tens with a bad kicker and you raise and an ace reraises you should fold. The only time to call is when you believe that the reraiser could have virtually anything. This was not the case in this situation. My experience is that when someone limps in with an ace up and then reraises several players he has a real hand.

However, in this spot I felt that there was too much money in the pot to throw away my hand, but a pair of tens does very poorly multiway. Many of my wins against a pair of aces are when I will make two small pair. But with two other opponents my two pair might beat a lone pair of aces but easily lose to one of the other hands.

So unless I believe that the two other players will come for the two additional bets, I should reraise, and this is what I did.

For those interested, the other two players both came for the two bets which showed my judgement was wrong and that I should have folded. I did win the pot. I caught a ten on fourth street and a ten on fifth street.

Mason goes on to say what ended up happening.

The play of the hand was unbelievable. When I paired my door card on fourth the ace called but the other two hands folded. On fifth when I made the third ten up, the aces made a pair of treys and called again. On sixth, I caught an ace and my opponent finally folded.

You are right, this hand has occupied my thinking away from the table. I’m not 100 percent sure that I made the right play.

For what it’s worth, I agree with his analysis, but I find it comforting to know that he isn’t sure if he played correctly.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

 
%d bloggers like this: