Anything But Hold Em

There\’s More to Poker Than Texas Hold Em

I Don’t Play the Ponies, But I Do Play HORSE

Posted by pmpoker on February 29, 2008

I appear to have beat this poker blogger (I’m guessing it’s him, since my notes say he has played the Mookie) in a $5 HORSE tournament despite being outchipped by about 127K to 32K at the start of heads-up. I got lucky in a few spots, but mostly I’m happy with how I played. One thing about limit tournaments is that it is even more important to give up when you get caught bluffing than it is in cash games. It was a bit more obvious when some of my opponents couldn’t bring themselves to take a bet-fold line with a bluff. It’s really not worth tossing away one-eighth of your stack in an attempt to not appear weak.

I don’t have my lifetime tournament stats, but I suspect that I am a net winner in tournaments that are not no limit hold em and possibly a loser in (bah) NLHE tournaments (the online databases don’t seem to have some of my earlier big wins).

One Response to “I Don’t Play the Ponies, But I Do Play HORSE”

  1. neu said

    I am regular visitor, how are you everybody? This
    paragraph posted at this web site is in fact nice.

Leave a Reply

 
